Skip to main content

Defeat for Albion at Veritas Park

Latest News

Plymouth Albion tasted a 29-24 defeat at the hands of Taunton on Saturday in the final game of 2023.

Taunton started strongly, winning a scrum penalty inside Albion territory and getting early possession in the 22. That pressure paid off seven minutes in when Elvis Taione went over, but the Albion response was quick.

Jenson Boughton drove over following a driving maul and, with both conversions having been missed, the sides were level.

Pita Ratukadreu squeezed us in front a few minutes later after some neat work from left to right, but the Titans offered a response of their own when Greg Kitson went over shortly after a Brad Howe red card. Frankie Dart added the extras.

Tom Putt edged Albion back in front after more solid play saw his escape in behind, but once again Taunton hit back moments later with a score of their own.

The second period saw Albion start the livelier, and they were held up over the line twice in the opening five minutes of it. The hosts quicky regathered themselves though and were able to gain a foothold in the half, kerbing our momentum as we looked for a vital score.

Dart played a neat kick through for Noah Fenton to add another try to the Titans’ tally, leaving them seven points in front with 15 minutes to go.

Hallam Chapman surged over before Tom Putt’s conversion levelled matters, but Fenton once again pounced to score to take Taunton back into the ascendency.

Taunton held on, leaving Albion to take two bonus points from the final game of 2023.


Taunton Titans:

Will Vaughan, Elvis Taione, Isaac Dalton, Sam Leworthy, Sam Knott, Harry Wright, Luke Bralsford, Ratu Vakalutukali, Connor Banks, Frankie Dart, Noah Fenton, Jeremy Tuima, Deago Bailey, Oscar Stewart, Greg Kitson

Replacements: Ollie Burrows, Brian Ncube, Alex Spurdle, Dan Martin, Jordan Petherbridge


Kye Beasley, Tom Cowan-Dickie, Jenson Boughton, Jake Clemson, Hallam Chapman, Jake Bond, Brad Howe, Tom Putt, Phil Jones, Sonny Hirini, Connor Eastgate, Archie Hill, Pita Ratukareu, Craig Duncan

Replacements: Gabe Mead, Callum Davies, Dan Collier, Morgan Stone, Bobby Wigginton

Previous Post

Albion Players Visit Youngsters In Derriford Hospital

Next Post

Merry Christmas!