Skip to main content

Albion end season with defeat at Brickfields

Latest News

Report by Rob Kershaw / photography by Brad Wallace

Plymouth Albion ended the campaign with defeat at the hands of title challengers Cambridge on Saturday afternoon.

On a wet, cold day, Ryan Lamb’s men came into the encounter light in the backs, giving starts to Morgan Stone, Charlie Groves and the returning Tom Putt.

Cambridge took an early lead when Ben Brownlie went over, with Steff James slotting the conversion.

Things got even tougher after a yellow card for Torin Clarke, and Joe Green put the visitors two tries to the good before the half four mark.

Morgan Stone pulled one back after a magnificent kick through by Groves, but Cambridge’s lead was extended before half-time by Anthony Maka.

The second half started with an away try scored by Kieran Frost, and it took only another four minutes for Kwaku Asiedu to grab their fifth.

Davies scored at the end to put Albion into double figures for the afternoon, but the day belonged to Cambridge, who proved their title credentials once more.

It was the final game in Albion colours for Jamie Salter who, after playing for the club for nine years over three spells, hangs up his boots following a sterling career.

The result left Albion with a finishing position of fifth in National League One after Cinderford also tasted defeat, and after winding up last season 11th, this is a terrific step forward for the club.

The possibilities are endless next season, and this campaign leaves us in no doubt that very exciting things are ahead for Plymouth Albion.


Ramaz Rukhadze, Jamie Salter, Dan Pullinger, Jake Clemson, Dan Collier, Torin Clarke, George Mills, Herbie Stupple, Morgan Stone, Phil Jones, Craig Duncan, Connor Eastgate, Frankie Nowell, Charlie Groves, Tom Putts

Replacements: Harry Wilkinson, Finn Richardson, Angus Hodges, Tom Davies, Conrad Burne

Seb Brownhill, Ben Brownlie, Billy Walker, Kieran Frostm Gareth Baxter, George Bretag-Norris, Ben Adams, Anthony Maka, Joe Tarrant, Kwaku Asideu, Matt Hema, Scott Lloyd, Joe Green, Steff James, Kieran Duffin

Replacements: Willie Priestley, Harry Morley, Matty Collins, Toby Dabell, Matt Williams

Previous Post

The season finale – Albion v Cambridge Preview

Next Post

Albion confirm retained list for 2023-24 campaign