Skip to main content

Albion 12 – Bishop’s Stortford 24

Latest News

Report by Rob Kershaw / Photography by Peter Sheridan

An uncharacteristically error-strewn Albion performance was punished by a clinical Bishop’s Stortford side, who left Plymouth with a 24-12 victory.

Stortford took an early lead after a sublime take from Francis Moore, who sprinted through the heart of Albion’s defence to open the scoring. Matthew Riddington slotted home a routine conversion.

With the hosts yet to spring to life, it was all too easy for Stortford to ghost in again, Chris Bolton going over this time.

One or two decent passing phases gave glimpses of optimism to the Albion faithful, but a combination of errors and solid defending denied the Ocean City’s finest a way through.

That period of good possession was interrupted by some more suspect defending, and Moore broke through again to punish them and score the visitors’ third.

Albion pulled one back when Phil Jones went over on a loaded right flank, before Dan Collier continued the revival when he bundled over right before half-time.

The second half never quite took off – both sides making mistakes in possession – and it was paused for an elongated period when Seta Raumakit took a heavy blow to the head, forcing him to exit the fray.

At the end of a largely catatonic second period, Stortford capped off a frustrating afternoon for Ryan Lamb’s men when Will Roberts sprinted through, sealing a deserved win for the Hertfordshire side.

The win saw Stortford leapfrog Albion and move into fifth in National League One.

Jack May caught up with Albion’s ‘Man of the Match’ George Mills


Ramaz Rukhadze, Harry Wilkinson, Jess Tompsett, Jake Clemson, Dan Collier, Angus Hodges, George Mills, Herbie Stupple, Jack Oulton, Phil Jones, Alex Ducker, Jeremy To’a, Seta Raumakita, Kyle Speare, Tom Putt

Replacements: Kye Beasley, Jamie Salter, Torin Clarke, Frankie Nowell, Jon Dowe

Bishop’s Stortford:

Tristan Smith, Ryan Jackson, Tim Matthews, Harry Charter, Obinna Nkwocha, Toby Tierney, Ollie Jones, Will Rogers, Chris Bolton, Jake Morris, Chris Smith, Francis Moore, Austin Pope, Josh Stannard, Matt Riddington

Replacements: Alex Rayment, Will Roberts, Henry Wills, Charlie Parkhouse, Connor Lloyd

Previous Post

Big Test for Albion as the Bishop’s come to town

Next Post

Wounded Albion looking to bounce back on long trip to DMP